Carmen Suite; Pini di Roma

Carmen Suite; Pini di Roma

900183 (BR Klassik, CD)


Playing time: 66'09"
Tracks: 17
Booklet pages: 28
© 2019 BRmedia Service GmbH
Main country of recording: DE
Country of manufacture: DE
Reviewer: Gerald Fenech
Review of Carmen Suite; Pini di Roma published on 18 June 2020

Listen: Rodion Shchedrin: Finale (Carmen Suite) (track 13, 0:00-1:00)

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Mariss Jansons, conductor

Rodion Shchedrin:

Carmen Suite - Ballet for Strings and Percussion
1 Introduction. Andante assai
2 Dance. Allegro
3 First intermezzo. Allegro moderato
4 Changing of the Guard. Moderato
5 Carmen's Entrance and Habanera. Allegro moderato
6 Scene. Allegro moderato
7 Second intermezzo. Larghetto
8 Boléro. Allegro vivo
9 Torero. Moderato con stoltezza
10 Torero and Carmen. Lento
11 Adagio. Andante moderato
12 Fortune telling. Andantino
13 Finale. Allegro

Ottorino Respighi:

Pini di Roma - Symphonic Poem for Orchestra, P 141
14 The Pines of the Villa Borghese. Allegretto vivace
15 The Pines near a Catacomb. Lento
16 The Pines of the Gianicolo. Lento
17 The Pines of the Appian Way. Tempo di marcia

Recorded live 13-17 November 2017 at the Philharmonie im Gasteig, Munich, Germany (Carmen Suite) and 15-17 May 2019 at the Herkulessaal der Residenz, Munich, Germany (Pines of Rome).