Bo Holten: The Emperor's New Clothes

Bo Holten: The Emperor's New Clothes

6.220701 (Dacapo Records, SACD)

NEW RELEASE (30 October 2020)

Playing time: 77'47"
Tracks: 21
Booklet pages: 36
© 2020 Dacapo Records
Main country of recording: Denmark
Country of manufacture: Germany
Reviewer: Geoff Pearce
Review of Bo Holten: The Emperor's New Clothes published on 27 December 2020

Gert Henning-Jensen, tenor
Palle Knudsen, baritone
Max Artved, oboe
Christine Nonbo Andersen, soprano
Morten Østergaard, bassoon
Vocal Ensemble Musica Ficta
Odense Symphony Orchestra
Bo Holten, conductor

Bo Holten (born 1948):

1-7 The Emperor's New Clothes (2004) - concert opera for tenor, baritone, choir of upper voices and orchestra, with libretto by Eva Sommestad Holten

8-13 Oboe Concerto, Il Romanesco (1995), in one movement, for oboe and orchestra

14-21 Songs of Dusk (1987) - song cycle to poems by Sophus Claussen for soprano, bassoon and orchestra

Recorded 3-7 June 2019 at Carl Nielsen Salen, Odense Koncerthus, Odense, Denmark