Jon Deak: Symphonic Tales

Jon Deak: Symphonic Tales

8.559785 (Naxos, CD)


Playing time: 53'20"
Tracks: 4
Booklet pages: 8
© 2019 Naxos Rights US Inc
Main country of recording: US
Country of manufacture: DE
Reviewer: Geoff Pearce
Review of Jon Deak: Symphonic Tales published on 4 August 2019

Jon Deak, contrabass, narrator (track 1)
Julia Bogorad-Kogan, flute, narrator (track 2)
Judith Lynn Stillman, piano, narrator (track 2)
Pamela Goldsmith, viola (track 3)
Chris Gekker, trumpet (track 4)
Cabrillo Festival Orchestra (tracks 3 and 4)
Marin Alsop, conductor, narrator (tracks 3 and 4)

Jon Deak (born 1943):

1 B B Wolf (An Apologia) (1982; text by Richard Hartshorne, born 1943, and Jon Deak)

2 Bye-Bye! (1987; text by Diane Wolkstein, 1942-2013, and Jon Deak)

3 The Snow Queen Finale: The Ice Palace (1991; text by Jon Deak, based on Hans Christian Andersen, 1805-1875)

4 The Legend of Spuyten Duyvil (1991; text by Jon Deak)

First recordings

Recorded live on 15 December 1998 at 820 West End Ave, New York, NY, USA (tracks 1 and 2) and on 31 July and 1 August 1993 at Cabrillo Festival Hall, Santa Cruz, California, USA (tracks 3 and 4)