O Magnum Mysterium

O Magnum Mysterium

HS0710-27 (Hoxa Recordings, CD)


Playing time: 52'45"
Tracks: 17
Booklet pages: 4
℗ 2007 Hoxa
© 2007 Hoxa
Main country of recording: United Kingdom
Country of manufacture: European Union
Reviewer: Keith Bramich
Review of O Magnum Mysterium published on 6 December 2020

Clifton Cathedral Choir
John Gibbons, organ, director
Christopher Walker, director

J Handl (1550-1591):

1 Resonet in laudibus

W J Kirkpatrick, arranged by G Mendham:

2 Away In A Manger

English traditional, arranged by David Willcocks:

3 Sussex Carol

J S Bach (1685-1750):

4 Wachet Auf, BWV 645 (organ solo)

Francis Poulenc (1899-1963):

5 O Magnum Mysterium

J S Bach:

6 Gelobet Seist Du, Jesu Christ, BWV 604 (organ solo)

7 Der Tag, Der Ist So Freudenreich, BWV 605 (organ solo)


8 Coventry Carol (original 1591 version)

J P Sweelinck (1562-1621):

9 Hodie Christus Natus Est

J S Bach:

10 In Dulci Jubilo, BWV 608 (organ solo)

old German tune, arranged by R Pearsall:

11 In Dulci Jubilo

F Gruber, arranged by C Walker:

12 Silent Night

J S Bach:

13 Kommst Du Nun, Jesu, Vom Himmel, BWV 650 (organ solo)

H Darke (1888-1976):

14 In The Bleak Midwinter

P Warlock (1894-1930):

15 Bethlehem Down

arranged by D Wulstan:

16 Echo Carol (Cölner Gesangbuch 1623)

L C Daquin (1694-1772):

17 Noël Suisse (organ solo)

Recorded 23-24 October 1987 at Clifton Cathedral, Bristol, UK and restored,re-edited and remastered in October 2007 by Richard Jeffrey-Gray.