Great Classic Film Music - Volume II

Great Classic Film Music - Volume II

ARIADNE 5009 (SOMM Recordings, CD)


Playing time: 74'03"
Tracks: 17
Booklet pages: 12
© 2020 SOMM Recordings
Main country of recording: United Kingdom
Country of manufacture: European Union
Reviewer: Gerald Fenech
Review of Great Classic Film Music - Volume II published on 13 January 2021

Listen: Benjamin Frankel: Carriage and Pair (track 12, 0:00-0:53)

Philharmonic Promenade Orchestra
Iain Sutherland, conductor

Jerry Goldsmith:

1 Main title (Star Trek: The Next Generation)

John Barry, arranged by Iain Sutherland:

2 Main title (You Only Live Twice)

Alan Silvestri:

3 Main title (Back to the Future)

Ennio Morricone:

4 Gabriel's Oboe (The Mission)

Lalo Schifrin, arranged by Iain Sutherland:

5 Main Title (The Eagle Has Landed)

Erich Wolfgang Korngold:

6 Main Titles and Love Theme (The Sea Hawk)

Cole Porter, arranged by John Lanchbery:

7 Title Music (Evil Under the Sun)

George Gershwin:

8 Overture (Funny Face)

Burton Lane:

9 Prelude (Main Title) (Finian's Rainbow)

Robert Stolz, arranged by Charles Previn:

10 March (Spring Parade)

Kurt Weill, arranged by Iain Sutherland:

11 September Song (September Affair)

Benjamin Frankel:

12 Carriage and Pair (So Long at the Fair)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:

13 Andante (Piano Concerto No 21 in C) (Elvira Madigan)

William Walton:

14 Prelude (Richard III)

15 Passacaglia / Death of Falstaff (Henry V)

16 Touch her soft lips and part (Henry V)

Maurice Jarre:

17 Main themes (Lawrence of Arabia)

Original studio (tracks 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 15 and 16) and live (tracks 1, 3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14 and 17) recordings made 1988-89 and 1994-95 from the Iain Sutherland/Radio Clyde Archive/NOS Archive