Gerard Schurmann: Chamber and Instrumental Music and Songs, Vol 4

Gerard Schurmann: Chamber and Instrumental Music and Songs, Vol 4

TOCC 0520 (Toccata Classics, CD)


Playing time: 77'16"
Tracks: 21
Booklet pages: 20
© 2019 Toccata Classics
Main country of recording: US
Sent to a reviewer on 8 January 2020

Randall Bills, tenor
Mark Robson, piano
Maxim Rubtsov, flute
Mikhail Korzhev, piano

Gerard Schurmann (born 1924):

Chuench'i: Song-Cycle from the Chinese (1966)
1 New Corn
2 Plucking the Rushes
3 Shang Ya!
4 Flowers and Moonlight on the Spring River
5 Look at that Little Bay of the Ch'i
6 Self-abandonment
7 At the End of Spring

8 Moonbird for solo flute (1998) (first recording)

Four Pastoral Preludes for piano (2012) (first recording)
9 Bellac
10 Grotto
11 Rivulets
12 Solitude

13 Sonatina for Flute and Piano (1968) (first recording) Sostenuto - Allegro vivace - Lento - Variations 1-5 - Allegro vivace - Sostenuto

Two Ballades for Piano: Homage to Janáček (1981-3) (first recording)
14 Hukvaldy
15 Brno

Six Songs of William Blake (1956, revised 1997 and 2018) (first recording)
16 Augury -
17 Ah! Sun-flower
18 I Laid Me Down Upon a Bank
19 Eternity
20 The Sick Rose
21 To the Evening Star

Recorded on 10 July 2018 (Moonbird and Flute Sonatina), 24 September 2018 (Chuench'i and Six Songs of William Blake) and 25 September 2018 (Four Pastoral Preludes and Two Ballades) at Allegro Recordings, Burbank, California, USA



All material © 1998-2021 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich