George Perle

The American composer George Perle, who studied with Ernst Krenek, was born in New Jersey on 6 May 1915. He was a serialist, although using a method of his own devising. He taught at various American universities and notably wrote six string quartets. His Woodwind Quartet No 4 won him the Pulitzer Prize in 1986. Perle died in New York on 23 January 2009, aged 93.

A selection of articles about George Perle

Ensemble. A True Dynamo - Lawrence Budmen listens to French conductor Ludovic Morlot, in concert with Jennifer Koh and the New World Symphony

Ensemble. Tanglewood and Beyond - The sounds of summer in the Berkshires, reviewed by Lawrence Budmen



All material © 1998-2021 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich