Gaudete! Carols and organ music from Clifton Cathedral

Gaudete! Carols and organ music from Clifton Cathedral

HS970802 (Hoxa Recordings, CD)

NEW RELEASE (27 November 2020)

Playing time: 50'08"
Tracks: 23
Booklet pages: 4
℗ 1997, 2019 Hoxa
© 1997, 2019 Hoxa
Main country of recording: United Kingdom
Country of manufacture: European Union
Reviewer: Keith Bramich
Review of Gaudete! Carols and organ music from Clifton Cathedral published on 24 December 2020

Lucy Boulton Smith, soprano (track 4)
Jenny Chant, soprano (track 6)
Clifton Cathedral Choir
Catherine Snelson, harp
Ian Ball, organ
David Ogden, conductor

Benjamin Britten:

1 Procession (A Ceremony of Carols)

2 Wolcum Yole! (A Ceremony of Carols)

William Mathias:

3 Alleluya, a new work is come on hand

H J Gauntlett, arranged by David Willcocks:

4 Once in Royal David's City

Francis Poulenc:

5 Hodie Christus natus est

W J Kirkpatrick, arranged by David Willcocks:

6 Away in a manger

Johann Sebastian Bach:

7 Gott, durch deine Güte (BWV 600)

8 Herr Christ, der ein'ge Gottessohn (BWV 601)

traditional, arranged by Arthur Sullivan and David Willcocks:

9 It came upon the midnight clear

Benjamin Britten:

10 There is no rose (A Ceremony of Carols)

11 This little babe (A Ceremony of Carols)

Johannes Brahms:

12 Schmücke dich, O liebe Seele, Op 122

13 Es ist ein' Ros' entsprungen

Benjamin Britten:

14 Balulalow (A Ceremony of Carols)

15 Interlude (A Ceremony of Carols)


16 Gaudete

John Gardner:

17 Tomorrow shall be my dancing day

Johann Sebastian Bach:

18 Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605

19 Vom Himmel kam der Engel Schar, BWV 607

sixteenth century French, arranged by David Willcocks:

20 Ding Dong! Merrily on high

Felix Mendelssohn, arranged by R Jeffrey:

21 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing

Benjamin Britten:

22 Deo Gracias (A Ceremony of Carols)

23 Recession (A Ceremony of Carols)