Intersection: 1955

Intersection: 1955

MLS-CD-026 (Melism Records, CD)

NEW RELEASE (28 August 2020)
Tracks: 25
Booklet pages: 36
© 2020 Melism
Main country of recording: France
Country of manufacture: Germany
Reviewer: Geoff Pearce
Review of Intersection: 1955 published on 20 November 2020

Listen: Theodorakis: Dans les parages de son lit (Les six éluard) (track 15, 0:01-0:59)

Angelica Cathariou, mezzo-soprano (tracks 8-23)
Nikolaos Samaltanos, piano (tracks 1-25)
Christophe Sirodeau, piano (tracks 1-7 and 24-25)

Mikis Theodorakis:

Erofili - Passacailles pour deux pianos (1955) inspired by George Chortatzis' tragedy 'Herophile' (first recording)
1 I Overture
2 II Erotic Dance
III Celebration
3 Entrance of the King and his servants
4 Entrance of the People, Dancers and Knights with their swords
5 Allegro marcato
6 IV Song of Lamentation - Herophile with the three mourning women in front of the remains of Panaretos
7 V Passacaille - Entrance of the King, carried by women. Dance of Pontus. Hades captures the King and leads him to the underworld

Les éluard, on poems by Paul Éluard for mezzo-soprano and piano (first recording)

Les quatre éluard - 'Jours de pluie' (14-02-1958) - texts from L'Amour la poésie (I), La forme de ton cœur (II), Capitale de la douleur (III-IV)
8 Je te l'ai dit pour les nuages
9 Ta chevelure d'oranges
10 La courbe de tes yeux
11 Leurs yeux toujours purs

Les six éluard - 'Medieuses' (10-03-1958) - texts from Médieuses I-VI
12 Elle va s'éveiller d'un rêve noir et bleu
13 Près de l'aigrette du grand pont
14 Sous des poutres usées
15 Dans les parages de son lit
16 Mes soeurs prennent dans leurs toiles
17 J'ai le pouvoir d'exister sans destin

Jani Christou (1926-1970):

Six T S Eliot Songs (1949-1955) for mezzo-soprano and piano
18 New Hampshire. 'Children's voices in the orchard ...' - text from Landscapes I
19 Death by Water. 'Phlebas the Phoenician, a fortnight dead ...' - text from The Waste Land, Part IV
20 Mélange adultère de tout - 'En Amérique, professeur; en Angleterre, journaliste ...' - text from Poems
21 Eyes that Last I Saw in Tears - 'Eyes that last I saw in tears, through division ...' - text from Collected Poems
22 The Wind Sprang Up at Four O'clock - 'The wind sprang up at four o'clock' - text from Collected Poems
23 Virginia - 'Red river, red river' - text from Landscapes II

Prelude and Fugue in D minor for two pianos (13-10-1944) (first recording)
24 Preludio - very fast
25 Fuga

Recorded in 2017 and 2018 at the Église Évangélique Saint-Marcel, Paris, France



All material © 1998-2021 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich