Igor Raykhelson

American composer and classical and jazz pianist Igor Raykhelson was born in Leningrad, Russia on 24 April 1961. In his teens he began studying classical and jazz piano at Leningrad Conservatory, and formed a jazz quartet which was very successful. He continued his studies with Alexander Edelman at New York University when his family moved to the USA.

His output includes a Jazz Suite, an Adagio for viola and string orchestra and a Viola Concerto, all played by Yuri Bashmet. Other works include a Small String Symphony and cello, clarinet and piano concertos.

A selection of articles about Igor Raykhelson

Record Box. Beautifully Played - Music by Igor Raykhelson, reviewed by Patric Standford



All material © 1998-2021 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich