Goffredo Petrassi

The Italian composer Goffredo Petrassi was born at Zagarolo, near Rome, on 16 July 1904. He was trained at a choir school and later studied music in his spare time. His works are predominately neoclassic, and the development can be traced in a series of eight Concertos for orchestra written between 1933 and 1972. He died in Rome on 3 March 2003.

A selection of articles about Goffredo Petrassi

Ensemble. A Roman Pietas - Giuseppe Pennisi listens to Petrassi and Shostakovich in Rome

Ensemble. A Pleasure Garden - Two summer concerts on an evening in Rome, heard by Giuseppe Pennisi

Ensemble. A Short Bittersweet Opera - Stravinsky's 'A Soldier's Tale', heard by Giuseppe Pennisi

Successful and Fulfilling - On the rediscovery of the Italian symphonic tradition, by Giuseppe Pennisi

Record Box. Superb Performances - Ursula Oppens plays Elliott Carter, celebrated by Patric Standford



All material © 1998-2020 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich