Philip Lane: Sleighbell Serenade

Philip Lane: Sleighbell Serenade

8.555880 (Naxos Records, CD)

REISSUE (24 March 2023)

Playing time: 73'39"
Tracks: 26
Booklet pages: 8
℗ 2001 Naxos Rights US Inc
© 2023 Naxos Rights US Inc
Main country of recording: United Kingdom
Country of manufacture: Germany
Reviewer: Gerald Fenech
Review of Philip Lane: Sleighbell Serenade published on 18 March 2023

Verity Butler, clarinet
Royal Ballet Sinfonia
Gavin Sutherland, conductor

Philip Lane (born 1950):

1 London Salute (1982)

Diversions on a theme of Paganini (1989) (version for orchestra, 2000)
2 Introduction and Theme
3 In Pieces
4 Toccata
5 Chaconne
6 Cortege
7 Popular Song
8 Five-a-side
9 Epilogue

Cotswold Dances (1973)
10 Seven Springs
11 Badminton House
12 Pittville Promenade
13 Cleeve Idyll
14 Wassail Song

Divertissement (1994) (version for clarinet, strings and harp, 2000)
15 Prelude
16 Canzonetta
17 Valse americaine
18 Tarantelle-rondeau

Three Christmas Pictures (1980s)
19 Sleighbell Serenade
20 Starlight Lullaby
21 Christmas Eve Waltz

22 A Maritime Overture (1982)

Three Nautical Miniatures (1980–2000)
23 When the Boat Comes In
24 Spanish Ladies
25 Portsmouth

26 Prestbury Park (1975) (version for orchestra, 1978)

British Light Music - 15.

Philip Lane has long been a stalwart of British light music and this recording provides an excellent survey of his concert works. London Salute marked the sixtieth anniversary of the BBC, while the lyrical and frivolous Diversions on a Theme of Paganini was originally written for brass quintet. Partly inspired by childhood memories, the Cotswold Dances reflect the composer's own part of the country, Gloucestershire and the Cotswolds. Composed for clarinet soloist Verity Butler, the Divertissement quotes liberally from Lane's earlier works, the most popular of which is the Sleighbell Serenade, a piece that has been performed all over the world.

Recorded 19-21 February 2001 at Henry Wood Hall, London UK and previously released on Marco Polo 8.225185.