Holst: The Cloud Messenger

Holst: The Cloud Messenger

DCD34241 (Delphian Records, CD)

24-bit stereo
NEW RELEASE (24 April 2020)

Playing time: 58'06"
Tracks: 23
Booklet pages: 20
© 2020 Delphian Records Ltd
Main country of recording: UK
Country of manufacture: EU
Reviewer: Gerald Fenech
Review of Holst: The Cloud Messenger published on 14 May 2020

Listen: Holst: When the dancers are weary (The Cloud Messenger) (track 15, 1:36-2:33)

The Choir of King's College London
The Strand Ensemble (tracks 1-18)
Caitlin Goreing, alto (track 9)
Joseph Fort, conductor

Gustav Holst (1874-1934):

The Cloud Messenger, Op 30
Chamber version arranged by Joseph Fort

1 Prelude
2 O thou, who com'st from Heaven's king
3 In the city of the Great God
4 Bringer of rain
5 Rushing northward
6 See how all greet thee
7 Behold the villages
8 As the rain descends
9 Tarry not, O cloud, tarry not
10 Tarry not, O cloud
11 And hark!
12 Thou has reached the snowy peaks
13 And see! The Great God himself
14 Chorus (Moderato maestoso) - Vivace
15 When the dancers are weary
16 Wait near her flower-covered window
17 The Message (I, the bringer of the rain)
18 'Beloved!'

Five Partsongs, Op 12

19 Dream Tryst
20 Ye little birds
21 Her eyes the glow-worm lend thee
22 Now is the month of Maying
23 Come to me

Recorded 9-11 June 2019 at All Hallows', Gospel Oak, London UK