Civitas Ensemble - Jin Yin

Civitas Ensemble - Jin Yin

CDR 90000 193 (Cedille Records, CD)

24-bit digital

Playing time: 77'19"
Tracks: 15
Booklet pages: 16
© 2020 Cedille Records
Main country of recording: US
Country of manufacture: US
Reviewer: Ona Jarmalavičiūtė
Review of Civitas Ensemble - Jin Yin published on 24 April 2020

Listen: Yao Chen: Green Tara (Emanations of Tara) (track 10, 0:00-0:57)

Civitas Ensemble:
Yuan-Qing Yu, violin
J Lawrie Bloom, bass clarinet
Kenneth Olsen, cello
Winston Choi, piano

Yihan Chen, pipa (tracks 1-5 and 9-15)
Cynthia Yeh, percussion (tracks 1-5)
Emma Gerstein, flute (tracks 1-5 and 7), piccolo (tracks 1-5)

Zhou Long:

Five Elements (first recording of this arrangement for the Civitas Ensemble)
1 Metal
2 Wood
3 Water
4 Fire
5 Earth

Chen Yi:

6 Night Thoughts (first recording of this arrangement for the Civitas Ensemble)

Lu Pei:

7 Scenes Through Window (first recording)

Vivian Fung:

8 Bird Song (first recording)

Yao Chen:

Emanations of Tara (first recording)
9 Intro: gloomy, brooding
10 Green Tara: expansive, saturated
11 Golden Tara: glimmering
12 Blue Tara: mysterious, deepened emotion
13 Red Tara: extremely undertoned but with burning sensation inside
14 White Tara: timelessly, transparently
15 Ending: extremely quiet

Recorded 27 February and 1-2 March 2018 in Anne and Howard Gottlieb Hall, Merit School of Music, Chicago, IL, USA (tracks 1-5 and 9-15) and 29-30 August 2019 at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts, University of Chicago, IL, USA (tracks 6-8)