Louis Frémaux

French conductor Louis Frémaux was born in Aire-sur-la-Lys on 13 August 1921 and studied at the Conservatoire de Valenciennes, then, after World War II (in which he joined the French Resistance), at the Paris Conservatoire, winning first prize in conducting.

He had long-term appointments with the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra (1956-65), l'Orchestre Philharmonique Rhône-Alpes (1968-71), the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (1969-78) and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra (1979-82).

Notable recordings include those of music by John McCabe - Notturni ed Alba and the Symphony No 2, and also of William Walton. Due to a major disagreement with and hurried departure from the CBSO, Frémaux remains underrated in the UK, despite having created the CBSO Chorus.

Louis Frémaux died at home in France on 20 March 2017, aged ninety-five.



All material © 1998-2021 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich