Sadao Bekku

Japanese composer Sadao Bekku was born in Tokyo on 24 May 1922 and studied experimental physics at Tokyo Imperial University. When he won a prize for one of his works, he began travelling to Paris to study with Olivier Messiaen and Darius Milhaud.

His music, which includes five symphonies, the opera Arima no Miko and the 1963 film score Matango ('Attack of the Mushroom People'), shows French and jazz influences. Recordings of his music can be found on the BIS, Camerata Records and Naxos labels.

Sadao Bekku died in Tokyo on 12 January 2012, aged 89.



All material © 1998-2021 Classical Music Daily,
various authors and photographers.
All rights of the original copyright holders
are reserved, and are credited where known.
Formerly known as Music & Vision
The world's first daily classical music magazine
Founding Editor: Basil Ramsey (1929-2018);
Editor: Keith Bramich